Skip to main content

Program Leadership

The Return to Learn program has been set into motion by a dedicated collective of UC San Diego administrators, public health experts, professors, staff members and student representatives. Learn about the members of the program steering committee.

Return to Learn Program Sponsor: Chancellor Pradeep Khosla

Return to Learn Program Steering Committee 

The Return to Learn Program Steering Committee provides overarching guidance for all campus “Return” task forces, ensuring that groups are aligned and adhering to the science and public health framework stemming from the Return to Learn program.


Program Leaders:

  • Epidemiology: Natasha Martin, D.Phil., Associate Professor of Medicine
  • Infectious Disease: Chip Schooley, M.D., Professor in the Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases and Global Public Health
  • Public Health: Cheryl Anderson, Ph.D., Professor and Dean of The Herbert Wertheim School of Public Health and Human Longevity Science at UC San Diego
  • Operations and Project Director: Bob Neuhard, Executive Director, Operational Strategic Initiatives

Health Leaders:

  • Angela Scioscia, M.D., Interim Executive Director of Student Health and Wellness
  • Chris Longhurst, M.D., M.S., Chief Information Officer and Associate Chief Medical Officer, UC San Diego Health
  • Brendan Kremer, Chief Administrative Officer – Operations, UC San Diego Health
  • Steve Gonias, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Pathology
  • David Pride, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor of Pathology

Chancellor’s Cabinet:

Research Leaders:

  • Eugene Yeo, Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
  • Rob Knight, Professor of Pediatrics and Computer Science & Engineering

Subject Matter Experts and Operational Support:

See preliminary steering committee recommendations »